A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


I was recently thinking back on how my stories came to be.

While my first novel, That Fateful Day, was written based on character development from World of Warcraft, my subsequent published works were based off of dreams that I had.

My children’s book, The Boy Who Didn’t Eat Vegetables, was inspired by a dream in which I woke up in bed and realized that I had shrunk to about two inches tall. I rode around in a hot-wheels car in a looping track, but the dream was cut off by an unexpected fall from the top of the slope. I woke up from the dream feeling very disoriented but realized that it would make an interesting story. I was twelve years old at the time.

The Saga of the Answering Storm was born in June of 2011. I had the most intense dream in which I was sitting cross-legged in complete darkness with five bowls sitting on the ground–or whatever the floor consisted of–and all of them had a glow emanating from inside.

Then suddenly, my perspective in the dream changed. My sight drifted away from my body, and I ended up turned to look at myself with the bowls between my body and me. Except that when I was looking at myself from my Out-of-Body Experience, I realized that my body had been that of a man with dark hair. As I watched, the man that I had been leaned forward and put his face into one of the glowing bowls. When he lifted his head again, his eyes glowed brightly with a blue light.

I don’t remember what happened after that, I just remember waking up and talking to my good friend Eva about it, who sugested that I write it down. Binding Power was born.

I make a simple suggestion to you all. Keep a dream journal by your bed or a tablet or whatever you use to write in and write down dreams that seem even remotely interesting. I can tell you from experience that they can surprise you with the kind of stories you can write about them.

Have fun and keep dreaming!

Leave a Reply

