A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


I use Grammarly for proofreading because there’s nothing worse than getting an email from one of my high school English teachers who has read my book and demands that I take his name out of the Acknowledgements.

Have you ever started reading a book but quickly became so distracted with all the atrocious grammar errors that you finally had to throw it away or delete it from your digital book shelf in disgust?

That’s the way I felt when I went back to my first novel, That Fateful Day. Granted, I was thirteen-going-on-puberty when I wrote it. I had thought to correct the mistakes I had made and republish a second edition; however, when I realized that every other sentence and paragraph in it had more than four grammatical errors, I abandoned ship.

I would have to rewrite it from scratch, and I really want to finish the second book in the Saga of the Answering Storm before my first lecture next year. So, I think I’ll just leave my debut novel the way it is, sitting forlornly in the digital archives of Amazon.com. Perhaps I’ll be able to finish the half-written sequel after I’ve completed the Saga.

Right now, between Grammarly and NaturalReader, I think I’ve got a handle on my current grammar situation, though my sales (and my mother/publisher) will tell me if I’m right.

Leave a Reply

