A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


I’m pretty sure most of you know who Jim Butcher is. So you’ll understand my excitement when I tell you that I met him at the Space City Convention on Saturday and got him to sign two of his books. However, the most amazing thing was that I gifted him a copy of my book–autographed, of course–and he accepted it!

I wonder how many authors do that? I think it’s a great way to get your work noticed by the people who inspired you and to network with them.

I recommend this to all you authors! Gift your book to a well-known author at a signing. Don’t be disappointed if he/she isn’t able to accept it, it may be that their agents had something to do with it. I hope I started a trend at the Con on Saturday.

Now, don’t go and give the poor authors an unfinished, unbound manuscript for them to read and “review!” They’ll toss it out! If it’s published (whether self-published or traditionally published) go right ahead. Sign it, write a little message like “thanks for being an inspiration,” and see what happens!

Jim Butcher is an awesome guy, and for those of you who have read the Dresden Files and have not met him, he has the personality of Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden. It was so exciting to meet him, and I was inspired by the incredibly long line of people who were waiting for him to sign their books. I’ll be at the next Space City Convention, and though I know that I won’t have as many people waiting in line for me (one can hope!) I hope that I will see him there.

Leave a Reply

