A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


I’ve been working on an outline of a lecture I’ll be conducting at next year’s DFW Writers’ Conference in May. I’ll be focusing on character development, but I would like to stress some importance on a certain topic in the lecture.

Your main character is the center of your readers’ universe while they’re reading your book. So, with that said, he/she MUST be loved by them. The hugest error an author can make is creating a character that the readers don’t care about. The audience must identify with or like him/her.

Three things are needed to achieve this:

1. Longing: the main character must have a deeply felt desire that he/she is playing lip service to because of fear.

2. Need: The main character/hero starts the story with a piece missing; he/she isn’t complete.

3. Wound: The main character should have an unhealed source of continued pain; i.e. a loved one who died tragically, an old physical wound, et cetera.

Include these in your character’s traits, and I guarantee your audience’s satisfaction with him/her.

Comments on: "Character Empathy" (2)

  1. Really useful advice. Sharp and to the point and is already helping me figure something with a character I’ve been working on (and having trouble with). Thanks.

    • I’m so glad I could help! It’s important to make sure that the reader empathizes with your characters, or else they won’t care what happens to them (and trust me, you want them to!)

Leave a Reply

