A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


Well, my next semester in college is coming up next week, and I plan on getting as much writing done as possible. It’s important to set aside time each day solely for writing, without distractions of children, television, or a particularly interesting scene in a book you’re currently reading.

Personally, I have my own system of writing so I don’t become brain-dead. I write for an hour, then I take a break for about thirty minutes to read or watch an episode (those usually run about 40 minutes, though, so I wouldn’t do that very often), followed by another hour of writing.

I also have a minimum word count that I hold to (most of the time), of 1,000 words.

Set goals and rewards for yourself, and the words will flow from your imagination to the computer screen (or notebook) in record time.

Comments on: "Ready for Summer?" (2)

  1. I think it is great that you have a system. You allow yourself time to play and time to focus on writing, and this sounds like a great balance.

Leave a Reply

