A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


After reading a very interesting blog about the advantages of writing in notebooks rather than computers, one of the comments caught my eye.

scribblechic said in her comment:

There is something exquisitely intimate about a note, letter, journal entry stretched across a page; imperfections and elegant sweeping letters curled around a thought.

No matter how time- and paper-consuming handwriting may be, I agree that there is nothing quite like scribing thoughts and ideas by hand.

I don’t know about anyone else, but when I write by hand, the emotions I feel come out in the way my script looks. If I’m angry or upset, the letters will be narrow and slanted; sad, they’ll be softly written, the nub of my pen barely touching the page (tears may also stain the page, even better reflecting my mood. You can’t leave tears on a word document).

Writing by hand is so much more personal than on a word document. The time taken to make a handwritten letter will mean so much more to the person you’re sending it to than a word doc typed in a curly font.

Leave a Reply

