A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


This post emphasizes what is truly important to have in your books when it comes to character development. I couldn’t have written it better myself.

[BTW] : Ben Trube, Writer

I’m reading a bad book right now.

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m in revision mode, or maybe it’s because I enjoyed this book as a kid and don’t find it living up to my expectations. The book is Vendetta by Peter David (yes ST:TNG for those of you clicking along at home). Normally I find David’s writing to be spot on and funny, but this one…

Here’s where it started:

“You’re not the one who was ankle-deep in blood,” said Crusher.

“I sure was!” said Geordi hotly.

*sigh*

Yes, the writing’s bad but that’s not what’s bothering me. What’s bothering me is that this isn’t how these characters would act.  Guinan wouldn’t say sir to Picard, Picard wouldn’t reveal his frustrations openly, and Geordi (hot-head that he is) would have a better comeback than “I sure was!” Sounds almost cheerful doesn’t it?

This got me to thinking about my…

View original post 686 more words

Leave a Reply

