A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


When I was about twelve years old, my dad gave me The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan. It was thicker than any book I had ever read, and the blurb on the back cover didn’t really catch my attention. I didn’t want to read it. My dad insisted that I do, though, and so I did, but with much complaining and grumbling.

The beginning of the book started slow, but I was entranced by the vivid descriptions of Robert Jordan, and soon enough, I couldn’t put it down. When I finished it, I was so excited to read the next one, The Great Hunt. When my dad told me there were eleven more, I knew it would be a long time before the series concluded.

I fell in love with the characters and the story, and soon enough, I started my own: That Fateful Day. Funny enough, the book started only as fan fiction for World of Warcraft, the MMORPG using my main character, Laurano Rivind. So, in a way, Jordan set the story, and WoW set the stage.

Now, in 2011, four years after Robert Jordan’s death, Brandon Sanderson has taken over the series and the next book, A Memory of Light, will be coming out next year, concluding the beloved series that first inspired me. Though saddened, I am also excited to see where the story concludes.

Leave a Reply

