A day in which you write something is a day well-spent


I read an interesting email on NaNo the other day. It said that most people find the second week of NaNoWriMo hard and the word count starts to fall behind. I didn’t think much of it, but I realized today, after writing barely five hundred words in an hour, that it seems to be true.

I’m guessing the steam starts to run out in the plotline ideas during week two, and it gets tough. Maybe throwing a random twist in the storyline would help people get where they need to be?

Comments on: "Week Two and Slowing Down…" (2)

  1. Dear Anastasia,

    Don’t worry about the slow days. They happen all the time! Steam loss for me comes from not being passionate about my characters. Sometimes, I go back to my best work ever and analyze what made it so special. Get some music going and feel pumped and connected to the story. Everyone has their own motivator so do whatever gets you going. I’m just here as a cheerleader saying, keep going! Shouts. Sparkles. Firecrackers. Hair on fire. Water. Calm again.

    Best,
    A strange guy

  2. That’s sound advice, Strange Guy. Thank you for your support. I’m having an easier time this week, so maybe it was just second-week blues or something ^.^

    Music has never really been my “connector” at all. I just get distracted by the lyrics. If I do listen to music, it’s almost always classical. My main “connector” is actually reading another person’s writings, i.e. a fantasy novel. Getting my own work out there for people to enjoy comes from reading other works.

Leave a Reply

